Conference Speakers

Conference will feature concurrent academic paper sessions as well as exhibition space for artists and groups such as the National Museum of Animals and Society.

Featured speaker events during the conference will include:

Keynote Speaker: Frans de Waal.

Film Session: Canine Soldiers, in conversation with director Nancy Schiesari. Accompanied by panel on military animals and documentary with Ryan Hediger (Ed. Animals and War) and Jennifer Ladino (author of “Working with Animals: Regarding Companion Species in Documentary Film,” in Ecocinema Theory and Practice). 

Pam Houston will read new material and engage in conversation on animal writing and human-nonhuman relations. Discussant: James Barilla.

Boria Sax

Ed Stewart, Performing Animals Welfare Society President & Co-Founder

Kari Weil, University Professor of Letters, Wesleyan University.

Lori Gruen, Philosophy, Feminist, Gender, and Sexuality Studies, and Environmental Studies,  Wesleyan University.

David L. Clark, English & Cultural Studies, McMaster University.

Carla Freccero, UC Santa Cruz

Deborah Bird Rose, Fellow of the Academiy of Social Sciences in Australia. Environmental Humanities, University of New South Wales

Claire Jean Kim, Political Science and Asian American Studies, UC Irvine.

Thom van Dooren, Environmental Humanities, University of New South Wales.

Margo DeMello, Animals & Society Institute

Jonathan Eisen, UC Davis Genome Center; Department of Evolution and Ecology, College of Biological Sciences; Department of Microbiology and Immunology, School of Medicine.

Sarah Hrdy, Professor Emerita of Anthropology, UC Davis.

Ben Hart, Distinguished Professor Emeritus at the UC Davis School of Veterinary Medicine. At UC Davis, he developed the first comprehensive teaching program in companion animal behavior and was chief of the Behavior Service in the veterinary hospital. He is the author of almost two hundred publications, many of which focus on resolving behavior problems in cats.

Brian Greco, UC Davis Center for Animal Welfare and Animal Science (formerly of the San Diego Zoo).

Many more confirmed participants representing an exciting range of interdisciplinary work, including Laura Brown, Gavin Van Horn, Thomas Doran, Stephen Eisenman, Brett Mizelle, Geoffrey Wandesforde-Smith, Alexander Harcourt, Robert C. Jones, Andrew Fenton, Gala Argent, Kendra Coulter, Lee Deigaard, Helena Feder, Sarah Pike, Allison Coudert, Julia Schlosser, Vivian Sming, Jonathan L. Clark, Jon Hegglund, Kristin Armstrong-Oma, Crystal Fortwangler, and more.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s